Testimonials

Here's what students are saying about Benthall Test Prep

250-Point Increase on First SAT

With Dr. Benthall’s help I achieved a 250 point increase over my PSAT!! I went from a 1200 on the PSAT to a 1450 on my first real SAT. Dr. Benthall’s class was a tremendous help and I plan to keep on studying and take the SAT again!! He showed me how to pinpoint my weaknesses and gave me resources to improve. I’m so thankful for Dr. Benthall’s class and I can’t wait to see where I end up.

(Helena R., Fort Mill High, October 2019)

Perfect SAT Math Score of 800

“Hi Dr. Benthall – I just got my Aug. SAT scores back and I scored a 1570: 800 on Math and 770 on Reading – 110 points better than last time! I’ve struggled with the Reading Section for a while, but taking your class gave me structure in preparing for a section that is hard to study for. Thank you for giving me the strategies and resources to help me improve. You helped us identify our weaknesses in every area of the test and the classes were tailored to every student’s needs at that point, which I loved. You also supported us through every step of the process, and it boosted my confidence on test day greatly! Thanks again!”

(Providence High School Student, August 2019)

Another Perfect SAT Math Score of 800

“Hi Dr. B. – I just received my August SAT scores and am so excited to have gotten a 1530, with an 800 on Math and a 730 on Reading/Writing! This was a 150 point increase from my original score, and I am so grateful for all of your tips and study skills. Thank you again.”

(Charlotte Latin High School Student, August 2019)

New ACT Score of 34 = 1500 on SAT

“Good morning, Dr. Al — I just wanted to update you that Rithvik scored 34 on the ACT: an increase of 5 points from his initial ACT (if we translate to SAT, the increase was 1320 to 1500 for 180 points). Thank you so very much for being there for him at all times. This wouldn’t be possible without your support & guidance. Though he took SAT lessons, your strategies for ACT were so helpful. He already referred you to some of his friends. Thank you!”

(Sobha C., Mother of Rithvik C., Cox Mill High, April 2019)

4-point Increase on ACT = Scholarship Money!

“Dr Benthall – After Hannah’s last ACT exam, she got a 4-point increase over her initial score. She was thrilled because it meant she would receive scholarship money so she can now attend Mississippi State University! Just wanted to give you a heads up! All the best.”

 (Amanda L., mother of Hannah K., Cuthbertson High, February 2019) 

Online SAT Video Course = 170 point Increase!

“My daughter has benefited greatly from Al Benthall’s online SAT prep class. The course is easy to navigate and the strategies Al teaches are incredibly helpful for both retaining the information during test prep and recalling that information during the actual test. Dr Benthall is so good at making the information easy to understand and doesn’t just lecture the students. He explains the information in a way that makes the whole process so much more enjoyable. We particularly like the fact that our daughter can complete the online assignments on her own and can work around her school and sports schedules. When she takes the practice exams, there are videos explaining each question, so she has been able to go back and figure out why she missed a certain question. Al Benthall is very responsive with any questions and has a genuine concern for the students throughout the process. My daughter raised her SAT score 170 points, and definitely credits Benthall Test Prep with that increase in her score!”

(Jen P., mother of Alex P., Mountain Island Charter, December 2018)

380 Point Increase on SAT

“Dr. Benthall’s SAT prep course is a great investment if you are looking to increase your scores. I took the course once without ever taking an official SAT and the outcome was incredible. With the help of the rigor of Dr. Benthall’s course and his methods, I was able to increase my PSAT score of 1060 to a 1400 on my first try. I always have struggled with the reading section of standardized tests and I am glad to now have an evidence-based reading and writing score of 710. I decided I would take the SAT again and with the help of the materials in Dr. Benthall’s course book he gave me during class, I received a score of 1440 on my second attempt for an increase of 380 points over my PSAT. With Dr. Benthall’s math tips and tricks, I was able to obtain a math score of 750. I pride my SAT score on Dr. Benthall’s course and I am more than grateful for the help he has given me in this challenging process.  I have recommended multiple people to Dr. Benthall and will continue to as well.”

(Adam S., Myers Park HS, September 2018)

I will be attending Yale University!

“Dr. Benthall’s class was instrumental in increasing my ACT scores. The strategies he teaches are very simple and straight to the point, allowing you to focus on the things that really matter. He makes class fun and the homework he assigns is very helpful in working out any issues you may have with each section. My composite score increased from a 32 to a 35 – a 3 point increase! My Math and Science scores increased the most, with my Math score increasing from a 29 to a 34 and my Science score increasing from a 31 to a 36, both 5 point increases! My English score increased from a 34 to a 35 – a 1 point increase – and my Reading score increased from a 32 to a 34 – a 2 point increase.”

(Olivia P., Ardrey Kell High, April 2017)

***UPDATE: “Hi Dr. Benthall – I’m emailing you because I thought you would appreciate an update on my college process. I was accepted at UNC, NC State, Duke, and Yale and I am happy to tell you that I will be attending Yale University! I credit your course for some of my success and I am so grateful that I was able to improve my score with your classes. Thank you so much for your time and I hope to keep in touch! Thank you, Olivia P.”

(April 2018)

Google Reviews

Read what people are saying about Benthall Test Prep on Google.

    review rating 5  I want to thank Dr. Benthall for helping my daughter prepare for the ACT/SAT. You were so instrumental in helping her get the scores she needed. We both know that this was no easy task for my daughter. She initially started with the ACT which proved to be difficult to get the scores she needed. It wasnt because she couldn't get it (she passed the practice test that Dr. Benthall gave at the end of the ACT prep course) however due to her ADHD/high anxiety when it comes to taking test she could not focus properly. Because she isn't easily defeated she decided to take the SAT prep course with Dr. Benthall. He not only let her take the prep course (the class had already started by time we decided to take the course) but he worked with us financially. Dr. Benthall gave my daughter extra practice test and anytime she had a question he responded almost immediately. He encouraged her and gave her tips on how to calm her anxiety down when testing. She took the SAT one time and received the scores she needed to apply to the two schools she always dreamed of going. I am proud to report that she received a full academic AND room/board scholarship to East Carolina University. Also, she got accepted to the Study Abroad program and the Pre-Nursing program. She will be studying in Italy in January for 4 months!!!! Thank you Dr. Benthall for helping my daughter get to her next level. You are truly amazing and gifted. We appreciate all you have done!

    thumb Tamika Patrick
    7/20/2018

    review rating 5  My daughter has benefited greatly from Al Benthall’s online SAT prep. The course is easy to navigate and the strategies Al teaches are incredibly helpful for both retaining the information during test prep and recalling that information during the actual test. Mr Benthall is so good at making the information easy to understand and doesn’t just lecture the students. He explains the information in a way that makes the whole process so much more enjoyable. We particularly like the fact that our daughter can complete the online assignments on her own and can work around her school and sports schedules. When she takes the practice exams, there are videos explaining each question, so she has been able to go back and figure out why she missed a certain question. Al Benthall is very responsive with any questions and has a genuine concern for the students throughout the process. My daughter raised her SAT score 170 points, and definitely credits Benthall test prep with that increase in her score!

    thumb Jennifer
    4/09/2019

    review rating 5  Dr Al, I wanted to update you with the college decisions for our twins since it is getting close to the May 1st deadline. Our son is headed to UNC Chapel Hill and our daughter is going to Boston College. It has been a long journey through the college app process. Your help in prepping them for the ACT provided a major benefit for us. We couldn't have these opportunities without your service. Thank you so much!

    thumb Mark Schmidt
    4/25/2018

    review rating 5  Dr. Benthall’s class helped me simplify the ACT by using strategies that are easy to understand. As a result, my composite score increased from a 28 to a 33!! My most dramatic score increase occurred on the science section where I increased my score from a 26 to a 34. Previously thought to be a very confusing “mathy” section, we broke it down as a class realizing that it was simple reading with limited science questions. For the English section, we practiced one or two new concepts each week helping me increase my score from a 28 to a 35. The reading section has always been the hardest for me, but Dr. Benthall’s strategy of circling “money words” and practicing weekly helped me raise my score from a 27 to a 30. By drilling many math problems each week and recording the types of problems missed in our learning logs, every student saw their math scores steadily increase with mine going from a 29 to a 32. Without this class I never would have been able to improve my score 5 points! Thank you!

    thumb Alexander Donald
    8/02/2018

Leave a Review