Testimonials

Here's what students are saying about Benthall Test Prep

290-Point Increase on SAT

“Hello Dr. Benthall — I’m happy to report that my most recent SAT resulted in a 1520 for a 290-point increase over my previous score. I’m also happy to say that I got into UNC, where I’ll be enrolling this fall on the pre-med track. While I hoped to make a 1500+ score on the SAT, I ended up gaining something much more valuable. I learned how to study, a skill that I’ve realized my counterparts have yet to discover. It’s because of excellent teachers and mentors like you that I am the student I am today. So, in case you haven’t heard it enough, Thank You!”

(Neyha B., Weddington High School, April 2021)

Perfect ACT Score of 36

“Dr. Benthall — Happy to share that Anish got a perfect score of 36 on his ACT. With your guidance, he was able to ace the test. Reading was his weakness, but with your strategies and support, he was able to increase it from a 27 to 36. He wouldn’t have done it without your help. Thank you so much!”

(Sirisha K., Mother of Anish K., Nation Ford High School, October 2020)

New SAT Score of 1510

“Hi Dr. Benthall — I am SO glad I took the SAT again. Great advice! I am happy to say I got a 1510 — 750 reading and 760 math — for a 150 point increase. Who knew math would end up being highest!? Thank you for all your help. This is a score I feel comfortable applying to Columbia with. 1360 to 1510 is pretty crazy. Have a great weekend!”

(Miranda W., Myers Park High, October 2020)

New ACT Score of 35

“Hi Dr. B. — Carissa received her ACT test score yesterday. (She finally took the test on 09.12 in Kings Mountain, fyi.) I am happy to share with you that she made an overall score of 35 (an increase of 6 points over her previous score), and in fact she scored 35 in each section. I know taking your test prep helped her out, and we are very grateful to you. We are happy to include this score in her college applications (we think all of the colleges she is applying to are still considering test scores), and we are hopeful this will help her receive some scholarships also. Thanks again for everything. Have a great weekend!”

(Kelly L., mother of Carissa L., Myers Park High, October 2020)

Headed to my top choice school – UNC Chapel Hill!

“Hi Dr. B! – I wanted to let you know that I got into my top choice, UNC Chapel Hill! I could not have done it without you. Raising my SAT score 150 points really boosted my application. I remember the first day of your class my sophomore year saying I wanted to go to UNC, but feeling unsure if I could do it. I am extremely excited and grateful for all of your help.  Thank you so much!”

(Emma S., Myers Park High, February 2020)

230-Point Increase over PSAT

“Hi Dr. B — Just wanted to let you know that I got a 1410 when I took the SAT on December 7!! I’m very happy with this as a starting score, with 710 reading and 700 on math, which gives me a 230 point increase over my PSAT. Thank you so much, I couldn’t have done it without your class. Happy New Year!”

(Annie O., Providence Day School, January 2020)

Perfect SAT Math Score of 800

“Hi Dr. Benthall – I just got my Aug. SAT scores back and I scored a 1570: 800 on Math and 770 on Reading – 110 points better than last time! I’ve struggled with the Reading Section for a while, but taking your class gave me structure in preparing for a section that is hard to study for. Thank you for giving me the strategies and resources to help me improve. You helped us identify our weaknesses in every area of the test and the classes were tailored to every student’s needs at that point, which I loved. You also supported us through every step of the process, and it boosted my confidence on test day greatly! Thanks again!”

(Providence High School Student, August 2019)

New ACT Score of 34 = 1500 on SAT

“Good morning, Dr. Al — I just wanted to update you that Rithvik scored 34 on the ACT: an increase of 5 points from his initial ACT (if we translate to SAT, the increase was 1320 to 1500 for 180 points). Thank you so very much for being there for him at all times. This wouldn’t be possible without your support & guidance. Though he took SAT lessons, your strategies for ACT were so helpful. He already referred you to some of his friends. Thank you!”

(Sobha C., Mother of Rithvik C., Cox Mill High, April 2019)

260-Point SAT increase using SAT Solved online video course

“I took Dr. Benthall’s online course ‘SAT Solved’ and improved a ton. When I started, I had a PSAT score of 1210. After taking the course my score is now 1470 – a 260 point increase. His course is well organized and easy to understand. His methods for the reading section are incredible. Overall, choosing Benthall Test Prep was one of the best decisions I ever made!”

(Alex N., Myers Park High School, April 2020)

Online SAT Video Course = 170 point Increase!

“My daughter has benefited greatly from Al Benthall’s online SAT prep class. The course is easy to navigate and the strategies Al teaches are incredibly helpful for both retaining the information during test prep and recalling that information during the actual test. Dr Benthall is so good at making the information easy to understand and doesn’t just lecture the students. He explains the information in a way that makes the whole process so much more enjoyable. We particularly like the fact that our daughter can complete the online assignments on her own and can work around her school and sports schedules. When she takes the practice exams, there are videos explaining each question, so she has been able to go back and figure out why she missed a certain question. Al Benthall is very responsive with any questions and has a genuine concern for the students throughout the process. My daughter raised her SAT score 170 points, and definitely credits Benthall Test Prep with that increase in her score!”

(Jen P., mother of Alex P., Mountain Island Charter, Beta Test for SAT Solved)

250-Point Increase on First SAT

“With Dr. Benthall’s help I achieved a 250 point increase over my PSAT!! I went from a 1200 on the PSAT to a 1450 on my first real SAT. Dr. Benthall’s class was a tremendous help and I plan to keep on studying and take the SAT again!! He showed me how to pinpoint my weaknesses and gave me resources to improve. I’m so thankful for Dr. Benthall’s class and I can’t wait to see where I end up.”

(Helena R., Fort Mill High, October 2019)

4-point Increase on ACT = Scholarship Money!

“Dr Benthall – After Hannah’s last ACT exam, she got a 4-point increase over her initial score. She was thrilled because it meant she would receive scholarship money so she can now attend Mississippi State University! Just wanted to give you a heads up! All the best.”

(Amanda L., mother of Hannah K., Cuthbertson High, February 2019)

380 Point Increase on SAT

“Dr. Benthall’s SAT prep course is a great investment if you are looking to increase your scores. I took the course once without ever taking an official SAT and the outcome was incredible. With the help of the rigor of Dr. Benthall’s course and his methods, I was able to increase my PSAT score of 1060 to a 1400 on my first try. I always have struggled with the reading section of standardized tests and I am glad to now have an evidence-based reading and writing score of 710. I decided I would take the SAT again and with the help of the materials in Dr. Benthall’s course book he gave me during class, I received a score of 1440 on my second attempt for an increase of 380 points over my PSAT. With Dr. Benthall’s math tips and tricks, I was able to obtain a math score of 750. I pride my SAT score on Dr. Benthall’s course and I am more than grateful for the help he has given me in this challenging process.  I have recommended multiple people to Dr. Benthall and will continue to as well.”

(Adam S., Myers Park HS, September 2018)

I will be attending Yale University!

“Dr. Benthall’s class was instrumental in increasing my ACT scores. The strategies he teaches are very simple and straight to the point, allowing you to focus on the things that really matter. He makes class fun and the homework he assigns is very helpful in working out any issues you may have with each section. My composite score increased from a 32 to a 35 – a 3 point increase! My Math and Science scores increased the most, with my Math score increasing from a 29 to a 34 and my Science score increasing from a 31 to a 36, both 5 point increases! My English score increased from a 34 to a 35 – a 1 point increase – and my Reading score increased from a 32 to a 34 – a 2 point increase.”
(Olivia P., Ardrey Kell High, April 2017)

***UPDATE: “Hi Dr. Benthall – I’m emailing you because I thought you would appreciate an update on my college process. I was accepted at UNC, NC State, Duke, and Yale and I am happy to tell you that I will be attending Yale University! I credit your course for some of my success and I am so grateful that I was able to improve my score with your classes. Thank you so much for your time and I hope to keep in touch! Thank you, Olivia P.”  (April 2018)

Google Reviews

Read what people are saying about Benthall Test Prep on Google.

    5 star review  I ​am so happy that I choose Benthall test prep. I took his online course and improved a ton. When I started, I had a PSAT score of 1210. After taking the course my score is now 1470. His course is well organized an easy to understand. His methods for the reading section are incredible. He also quickly responds to questions with a call or an email. Dr. Benthall was genuinely excited when I told him my score. Overall, choosing Benthall test prep was one of the best decisions that I have ever made! Alex Naper- Myers Park High School

    thumb Alex Naper
    4/16/2021

    5 star review  Dr. Benthall's SAT course helped me increase my SAT score tremendously. Using Dr. Benthall's strategies, I got a 1410 on the SAT, a 160 point increase, and got into some of my top choices such as NCSU and Northeastern University! I would highly recommend Benthall Test Prep to anyone serious about increasing their SAT/ACT score.

    thumb Pranay Tewari
    9/17/2020

    5 star review  Dr. Benthal is a great professor for students to improve their SAT & ACT scores.

    thumb Ali adem
    4/29/2019

    5 star review  Dr.Al is a great instructor and very supportive of my son. Without his lessons & strategies, my son wouldn't have gained 5 points on his ACT. I highly recommend him.

    thumb Sobha Potu
    5/02/2019

Leave a Review